10.1″ Android (Froyo) Tablet Announced by Toshiba

It seems to be the cool thing to do these days, developing Android based tablets to challenge Apple’s ipad. Toshiba today announced their “Toshiba Folio 100″ Android Tablet (priced at approximately $540 for the Wifi only model). Between the two devices I would probably still pick up the Samsung Galaxy Tab, but a 10.1” display does sound nice. I had read a few reports that the Samsung would be sort of locked to 3g, requiring it even in the presence of wifi for data to function properly, though I now believe that to be false. So assuming the Samsung Galaxy Tab is “wifi only” capable then I suppose this doesn’t beat it spec for spec, although the 10.1″ display is a big selling point to me. The new Toshiba tablet boasts some decent specs, such as;

  • 10.1″ capacitive multi-touch touchscreen
  • 1024 x 600 resolution display
  • Android 2.2 (Froyo)
  • NVIDIA Tegra 2 processor
  • 16 GB internal storage (32 GB available SD expansion)
  • Adobe Flash 10.1
  • 1.3 MP webcam
  • Mini-HDMI
  • USB 2.0
  • Bluetooth 2.1
  • WLAN (802.11)
  • 3G capable model to be released in early 2011

I am more than excited about all the new Android based tablets that are being released, and the Samsung Galaxy Tab sounds great. If I end up ordering a tablet, I think I’d prefer something closer to the 10.1 inch display offered on the Toshiba. I’ve also read, though not confirmed, that the battery life of the Toshiba device is limited to around 7 hours. I would really like a tablet, but personally I’m going to wait until the next generation of Android tablets is released, despite some of the impressive features boasted by this device.

About Dillon Hanson
Dillon here. I'm 23 years old, married, and I'm a medic in the U.S Army, fresh out of Iraq. I'm stationed in Germany (pops beer cap) for the time being, and awaiting my wife to join me. I'm a relapsing tech geek. I can't say exactly what it is that attracted me to technology, I've just always been drawn to it. I started out intrigued by the computers at school. In 6th grade I finally got my first computer, a hand me down DOS box. I can't remember the model to save my life, but it had a 5.25" drive and a dot matrix printer that was excrutiatingly loud. A few years later I found myself in trouble at school with computers, so I supressed my inner geek. Since then I've dabbled in Linux and programming, worked for a short time in the wireless industry, but for the most part just enjoyed technology instead of making technology itself a hobby. Now I find myself rediscovering it's appeal. I enjoy playing with electronics in general, but get a real rush from manipulation. I don't screw with "hacking" in the Kevin Mitnick sense these days, but unlocking, jailbreaking, modifying, and customizing presents a challenge and can pay off with some real eye candy, added functionality, and WTF reactions. My phone OS of choice is Android, though I think my wife would sooner divorce me than get rid of her iPhone. lol. I use a rooted HTC Hero (European) for my mobile device.

3 Responses to 10.1″ Android (Froyo) Tablet Announced by Toshiba

  1. Tony Peric says:

    Roh roh…I may want this now. Dammit! Samsung is coming out with various sizes and they announced that today. So we may just see the goodies here by the holidays.

  2. Dillon Hanson says:

    Well if samsung does release a larger screen version… then that = WIN! and I may pick one up myself… although I am sort of inclined to wait a bit and see what future tablets offer… dual core? expandable ram? keyboard support/pointing device support? lol who knows… how much you wanna bet Dell decides to release an Alienware tablet.. lol… that would be interesting….

    • Tony Peric says:

      It’s Android. You know someone is going to write a keyboard app or a custom ROM that has it capable.

Leave a Reply

