Sony PSOne Games Coming to Android Devices via Playstation Suite!

PS Sony’s new Playstation Suite was not the show stealer at Sony’s press conference in Tokyo (see NGP), but it is still huge news for the mobile industry. Playstation Suite is a software framework that will allow Playstation One games to be ported over to Android devices running Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) later this year. This is not only huge news because it’s awesome, but because it marks the first console maker to port over their own ecosystem to cellphones/tablets (In no small part due to the previous limitations of cellphone/tablet GPUs I’m sure).

It would seem that Sony is not blind to the booming cellphone gaming niche that serves casual gamers and fiending gadget addicts alike. The convenience of whipping out your cellphone to combat boredom is nothing to scoff at, when you take into consideration the annoyance of shoving a PSP into your pocket. With that said, they are trying to get their share of that market, and I foresee Sony reaping big benefits from the decision. While at the moment they are only offering PSOne games, I would assume that as cellular devices evolve PS2 games will emerge into the Playstation Suite. However I think the buck stops there for now, since Sony’s new NGP (Next Generation Portable) is said to boast a quad core processor capable of running PS3 games on a 5″ screen. So i don’t see Sony outbidding themselves and stifling their new device by offering their games on any future Android device that releases while the NGP is their cutting edge portable gaming device. Although there have been rumors of PS3 quality games hitting cellphones within 3 years. So Sony might find themselves amidst fierce mobile competition either way.

While this is a huge step for the mobile gaming industry, the Playstation Phone was still not confirmed by Sony. The development of playstation porting to Android devices, however,  would support the rumor none the less. It shows that the developers over at Sony have been working on just what a playstation phone would need. In fact I would not put it past Sony to release PS2 games exlusively to a Playstation Phone, while marketing PSOne games to the rest of the devices to keep competitive. That is of course completely speculative.

In any case, this guy is pretty stoked that PSOne games are coming to his favorite mobile platform 😀

About Dillon Hanson
Dillon here. I'm 23 years old, married, and I'm a medic in the U.S Army, fresh out of Iraq. I'm stationed in Germany (pops beer cap) for the time being, and awaiting my wife to join me. I'm a relapsing tech geek. I can't say exactly what it is that attracted me to technology, I've just always been drawn to it. I started out intrigued by the computers at school. In 6th grade I finally got my first computer, a hand me down DOS box. I can't remember the model to save my life, but it had a 5.25" drive and a dot matrix printer that was excrutiatingly loud. A few years later I found myself in trouble at school with computers, so I supressed my inner geek. Since then I've dabbled in Linux and programming, worked for a short time in the wireless industry, but for the most part just enjoyed technology instead of making technology itself a hobby. Now I find myself rediscovering it's appeal. I enjoy playing with electronics in general, but get a real rush from manipulation. I don't screw with "hacking" in the Kevin Mitnick sense these days, but unlocking, jailbreaking, modifying, and customizing presents a challenge and can pay off with some real eye candy, added functionality, and WTF reactions. My phone OS of choice is Android, though I think my wife would sooner divorce me than get rid of her iPhone. lol. I use a rooted HTC Hero (European) for my mobile device.

One Response to Sony PSOne Games Coming to Android Devices via Playstation Suite!

  1. Jeff B says:

    Amazing! Thanks for the share!

    Of course these prices can different, but it is always more expensive to get it from the US.

    Personally my limit is $600, but that is just me.

Leave a Reply

