Microsoft Not Abandoning Windows Mobile 6.5 Platform

Anything but, in fact. It’s reported that Microsoft will not be abandoning the Windows Mobile 6.5 platform, but rather just rebranding it to “Windows Phone 6 Starter Edition” for more business oriented devices, such as the Motorola MC55. Social networking, music, and youtube are attractive features to an average user. But to a business it may in fact not only be unneeded, but unwanted, as it may bring distractions from work.

Windows Phone 6 Starter Edition will be available in 2 flavors: With or Without Microsoft Office Mobile, and will support just about every network in use today (2G , GPRS, EDGE, CDMA2000, EV-DO Rev A and TD-SCDMA/Chinese 3G.)

It really comes as no suprise and is a rather intelligent move on Microsoft’s part, because if they had completely dumped WinMo 6.5 for Windows Phone 7, they would most likely lose their entire corporate and industrial customer base (A rather large portion of customers.)

[tweetmeme source=”fonefrenzy” http://wp.me/pv73k-Dh%5D

About Dillon Hanson
Dillon here. I'm 23 years old, married, and I'm a medic in the U.S Army, fresh out of Iraq. I'm stationed in Germany (pops beer cap) for the time being, and awaiting my wife to join me. I'm a relapsing tech geek. I can't say exactly what it is that attracted me to technology, I've just always been drawn to it. I started out intrigued by the computers at school. In 6th grade I finally got my first computer, a hand me down DOS box. I can't remember the model to save my life, but it had a 5.25" drive and a dot matrix printer that was excrutiatingly loud. A few years later I found myself in trouble at school with computers, so I supressed my inner geek. Since then I've dabbled in Linux and programming, worked for a short time in the wireless industry, but for the most part just enjoyed technology instead of making technology itself a hobby. Now I find myself rediscovering it's appeal. I enjoy playing with electronics in general, but get a real rush from manipulation. I don't screw with "hacking" in the Kevin Mitnick sense these days, but unlocking, jailbreaking, modifying, and customizing presents a challenge and can pay off with some real eye candy, added functionality, and WTF reactions. My phone OS of choice is Android, though I think my wife would sooner divorce me than get rid of her iPhone. lol. I use a rooted HTC Hero (European) for my mobile device.

Leave a comment